Oil-Free Corn Chips Recipe

Dear Leah Renee, 

Have you made corn chips before?  I hear you can make them with tortillas but I don’t know where to start.  Buying chips just seems too easy. ~Ella, DE

At my local Whole Foods Market, the bread and tortilla shelves are right by the register.  This tempts me every time, but I know that without fail, each time I bring home a lovely pack of corn tortillas, they go bad before I have the chance to eat them all.  I do have good intentions thinking of all the wonderful, versatile dishes I can make with the simple item,  but sure enough…it’s time to either toss or eat.  So I make chips!  Then they won’t go bad!  They save you money  (bags of chips are usually kinda pricey!), and they’re so much healthier than the otherwise fried version.  And you can decide how you want them to taste depending on what spices you use.  I will give you the recipe for what I like the best, but you decide!

organic corn tortillas

Ingredients:

homemade tortilla chips

Directions:

  • Slice the tortillas into halves, then triangles.  I usually stack about 3 to save on time.  You can get about 4 triangles per half.
  • Place all sliced triangles into a medium bowl, and add the juice of 1 lime, the spices, and sea salt to taste.  You can be pretty generous with it.  Using your hands mix it all together, making sure all of the triangles are coated by the mixture.
  • Transfer it all onto a lightly greased baking sheet, and bake at 400 degrees F for about 30 minutes, or until they’re just a little browned and look crispy.  Make sure the triangles aren’t overlapping, unless you don’t mind that each one isn’t evenly crisp!  Check in between and turn for even browning.
  • Done!  Let them cool a little and grab some homemade salsa and you’re in for a tasty treat!

homemade tortilla chips

One comment

Leave a Reply

