I Am Thankful

In light of Thanksgiving, it’s the perfect time to focus on what we’re really thankful for.  It’s great to remind ourselves throughout the year what we came up with the year before, and be blessed enough to add to the list as time goes on.  This year…

I am thankful for my LIFE.  My husband and I were recently in the LAX shootings, I’m talking 50 feet away from the shooter in terminal 3, where we hid on the ground underneath the chairs, for our lives.  It is tragic the life of a TSA officer was taken, and a few other people were wounded.   My heart goes out to their families.  I am thankful he not only spared our lives, but the lives of most everyone else in the terminal that day, as we later found out he had enough ammo to take us all.

I am thankful for my HUSBAND.  I had a feeling I might have already known the person who would one day be my partner for life, because if you know me, well, it’s probably a good thing to find someone who ‘gets’ me.  I was sure great love existed, I have seen it.  However, I did not know it would happen to me.  It’s the best feeling in the world.  He makes my life easier; he is my biggest supporter, and my biggest fan.  I respect the man he is with and without me.  He does the right thing.  He cares about people.  We have been friends for over 11 years where I have had the time to see who he really is and admire everything I know.  I love him with all my heart and am thankful I get to spend the rest of my life with my best friend.

September 21, 2013

September 21, 2013

I am thankful for my HEALTH.  There is a quote I just love by Wolfgage Riebe about health and worry.  It looks like this:                  

“There are only two things to worry about, either you are
healthy or you are sick. If you are healthy, then there is nothing
to worry about. But if you are sick there are only two things to
worry about, either you will get well or you will die. If you get
well, then there is nothing to worry about. But if you die there
are only two things to worry about, either you will go to
heaven or to hell. If you go to heaven, then there is nothing to
worry about. And if you to go hell, you’ll be so darn busy
shaking hands with your friends you won’t have time to worry.”

The heaven and hell part is controversial depending what you believe in, and I am not preaching one way or the other.  I like this quote because I find it humorous and I’m able to keep a good perspective on what’s really important.  When you don’t have your health, you don’t have much, so take care of yourself and work on stressing less by finding what quote, activity, or place that resonates with you.

I am thankful for my PRESENT MIND.  I consider it a gift.  I’ve been lucky enough to have it since I was a child.  I remember thinking I didn’t want to hurry up and get older yet because it would come anyway.  That was a normal thought I had at age 8.  Or was it?!  Now that I’m an adult I realize how wonderful this mentality is.  It’s easy to get caught up in our daily routines, worries, and stresses.  Perspective is everything and it’s good to have little reminders.  Unless it’s over, tomorrow will come–and the next day and the one after that.  So why hurry?  Enjoy now.  One of my all-time favorite quotes:  “Yesterday is history, tomorrow a mystery, today is a gift, that’s why it’s called the present.”

What are you thankful for?  Please feel free to share because I am thankful for YOU too!

THANK YOU 🙂

5 comments

  1. Leah!!!! This article was so thought provoking and heartfelt! Thank you for sharing! I’m grateful for a number of things as well! Not to sound cheesy, but I’m so grateful for my friendships with the women in my life. Each and everyone I them touch my heart. I love talking to you and all of your little analogies. It really helps me. Thank you! I’m thankful for my loving family. My mother and father are always my biggest supporters. I’m also very grateful for my life experiences, as they have shaped me into the woman I am today. Happy holidays!!!:) 😄🌺💗

Leave a Reply

