Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Bites (Raw, Gluten Free)

It was time for something sweet and I felt like whipping up something.  It came to mind I had yet to make a dessert using garbanzo beans (aka chickpea’s) so I searched the Internet for a good recipe.  It lead me to Texan Erin Baking, an amazing website where you can find healthier versions of not-so-healthy sweets (see my article here)!

I’m a fan of not-so-healthy sweets too.  I realize there are ingredients that aren’t good for me, but….I’m NEVER going to entirely give up peanut (or peanut butter or mint) M&M’s.  My eating habits are healthy 95% of the time–I will save the 5% for those once in a blue moon!  I have to say I REALLY liked these little dough bites.  I’m going to throw out a few tips though from my own experience.

Chickpea cookies

  • These are definitely best as BITES!  I tried to make cookies out of them–bad idea!  They’re too crumbly and are really best as little poppers!
  • I did NOT use vegan chocolate chips, just plain ‘ol real chocolate, so they are not dairy free.  I love chocolate too much and until the day I cannot tolerate dairy, chocolate will always be involved.  They are still grain free and gluten free!!!
  • I used maple syrup instead of honey.
  • The recipe calls for a high speed blender.  I do have a Vitamix but knowing how gooey they’d get I actually used my hand blender.
  • If you prefer to just eat it as cookie dough–I highly recommend!  I only made half the batch and saved the rest, I liked it that way even more.
  • You can use almond butter or other types in place of peanut butter, just make sure it’s all natural (I used peanut butter).

image_2

Here is the recipe (from TexanErin):

Grain-free Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bites
Prep Time: 8 min
Cook Time: 10 min
Ready in: 18 min
Yield: 14 1″ cookies

Ingredients

  • 1¼ cups canned chickpeas, well-rinsed and patted dry with a paper towel
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • ½ cup + 2 tablespoons (165 grams) natural peanut butter
  • ¼ cup (80 grams) honey
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder a pinch of salt if your peanut butter doesn’t have salt in it
  • ½ cup (90 grams) chocolate chips (use vegan and dairy-free chocolate chips, if needed)

Directions

1. Preheat your oven to 350°F / 175°C. Combine all the ingredients, except for the chocolate chips,
in a food processor and process until very smooth. Make sure to scrape the sides and the top to
get the little chunks of chickpeas and process again until they’re combined.
2. Put in the chocolate chips and stir it if you can, or pulse it once or twice. The mixture will be
very thick and sticky.
3. With wet hands, form into 1½” balls. Place onto a Silpat or a piece of parchment paper. If you
want them to look more like normal cookies, press down slightly on the balls. They don’t do
much rising.
4. Bake for about 10 minutes. The dough balls will still be very soft when you take them out of the
oven. They will not set like normal cookies.
5. Store in an airtight container at room temperature (or in the fridge) for up to 1 week.

***If you need grain-free baking powder, you can use 1 part cream of tartar + 1 part baking soda +2 parts arrowroot.

cookie dough bites

 

5 comments

Leave a Reply

