Every Body Is Different

I think it’s interesting wrote this article so recently “What Does Healthy Really Mean?“.  It was in that article I addressed that being healthy is different for everybody.  It’s in our feelings, our thoughts, our attitude, and our diet.  If you don’t eat kale it doesn’t make you any less healthy than your friend that does.  I’m definitely getting a nice dose of my own advice right now!  Since visiting the doctor, I have been given a diet than makes me step outside my own usual daily choices.  Even though it’s still very healthy, it’s not the same kind of healthy I am used to.  I am used to a lot of salads and eat primarily vegetables with additional protein from nuts, seeds, hemp, tempeh, lentils, and other vegan sources.  I do eat fish occasionally, but not a lot.  The vegetables I eat are mostly raw, whether they’re blended up in a smoothie or in the salad.  I eat minimal grains, quinoa and brown rice once in a while.  I love fruit.  While some of these are still fine for me to consume, some either need to be altered, subtracted–oh, and a few additions that I haven’t had in the past seven years.

In Chinese Medicine, because I am not producing enough blood (to get my cycle), and to prep my body to carry a baby, it has been suggest that I start incorporating some animal products such as organic free range chicken, organic grass-fed beef, and more fish. While I still cannot bring myself to eat a steak, burgers (beef mince) it is.  In addition, I must eat warming foods.  That means both temperature wise (as in cooked), and foods that are naturally heating (thermogenic) like peppers and ginger.  I need to stay away from naturally cooling foods (think cucumbers) and anything ice cold (and there goes my morning smoothies!).  I also need to keep away from sugar, dairy, and most raw fruits.  My greatest loss: coffee, or anything that contains caffeine for that matter.  I love coffee.  LOVE. COFFEE.

Here are the best foods for me to eat to help my body right now:

  • Black beans, Kidney beans, Adzuki beans
  • Beets
  • Wild rice, Black rice, Brown rice
  • Quinoa
  • Cooked vegetables like pumpkin, squash, sweet potatoes, kale, carrots, peas
  • Grass-fed beef, Organic chicken, Lamb (this one is not happening!  I just can’t!!!)
  • Walnuts
  • Goji Berries
  • Onions, Garlic, Leeks
  • Rosemary, Turmeric, Cinnamon, Ginger
  • Oats
  • Salmon, Prawns, Mackerel
  • Bone Broth
  • Black sesame seeds
  • Spirulina, Chlorella

I may not love making changes to my diet, or should I say cutting out otherwise “healthy” foods that I truly enjoy and am used to, but I do love the lessons in this.  It’s something I preach all the time, and now I am no different.  I most definitely had and still have a very healthy, nutritious diet.  The difference is one was not serving my body the way I imagined it would.  Broccoli is one of the most nutritious foods we can eat, yet someone with thyroid issues should steer clear, or eat in moderation as long as it’s cooked well.  That is because it will not serve someone with that condition and could actually aggravate it.  I was aggravating my body by starting the day with ice cold morning smoothies with frozen spinach and bananas.  Neither of these foods are bad.  In fact, they serve a majority of the population quite well!  Me?  Right now?  Not so much.  It will be a transition, that’s for sure, but nothing to complain about.  It’s all in the name of finding what works and getting my body to function optimally.

Do not let anyone convince you that something that works for them will necessarily work for you too.  By all means–try it!!!  It’s all about listening to your body and if it doesn’t feel right it probably isn’t!

Have you ever had a food or drink that’s supposed to be good for you but it didn’t work for you?  I’d love to hear!

One comment

  1. How interesting, Leah!! Thank you for sharing this with us, and sharing your journey as well. And don’t worry about lamb… NOT a fan either.

Leave a Reply

